Afghanistan name spin-heavy squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Afghanistan have included a number of slow bowling options in their squad for the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup 2021.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board selection announced its selection on Thursday, September, more than a month after the tournament.

Star Rashid Khan will lead the attack and the team includes co-all-rounders Mohammad Nabi and Sharafuddin Ashraf.

Front-line spinners Qais Ahmed and Mujib Ur Rahman have also been included in Afghanistan’s list for the tournament.

Afghanistan will start their tournament in Sharjah on October 25 against Group B winners from Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea or Scotland in the first round.

Runners-up from India and New Zealand and Pakistan and other qualifying pools (Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands or Sri Lanka) will include Khan & Co. in Group-2.

Afghanistan have won three men’s Twenty20 Internationals out of a total of 14 matches against full members of the tournament’s Super 12 in their history.  All three wins came against the West Indies.

Rashid Khan is the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade

Within minutes of the team’s announcement, Afghanistan stepped down as captain, citing his lack of involvement in the team election.

“The selection committee and the ACB (Afghanistan Cricket Board) did not take my consent for the team announced by the ACB media,” he said.

“As a captain and a person responsible for the nation, I reserve the right to be part of the team selection.

I am deciding to step down as the captain of the Afghanistan T20 team immediately.

Squad: Hazratullah Zazai, Rashid Khan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz,  Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen ul Haq, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad

Reserves: Farid Ahmed Malik, Afsar Zazai,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: