IPL 2021: Six wins and two losses, a quick recap of DC’s campaign so far

Before the resumption of IPL 2021 in the UAE, we keep an eye on DC’s campaign in the tournament.

After finishing as runners-up in the previous season, Delhi Capitals (DC) has started the 2021 season at a height again. Under the captaincy of Hab Shaw Pant, they are currently the top team with 12 points from eight matches.

The previous IPL season also competed in the UAE, and after a good performance, the Capitals will win their first title when the second half of the current season begins on 19 September.

Match 1
DC vs CSK, 10th April – Won

DC started their campaign with a seven-wicket win over CSK.

Suresh Raina (54 off balls36) inspired CSK to bat and they scored 188 after 20 overs. Chris Oakes and Avesh Khan were among the DC bowlers and took two wickets each.

In reply, Prithvi Shaw (72) and Shikhar Dhawan (85) got off to a good start with 138 runs.

Match 2
DC vs RR, 15 April – Lost

After asking to bat, DC finished 147/8 led by Rishabh Pant (51 off 32 balls) and contributed by Lalit Yadav and Tom Curran.

While Avesh Khan (3/32), Chris Woakes, and Kagiso Rabada (2/30) bowled well for DC, firecrackers from David Miller (62 off 43 balls) and Chris Morris (18 not out 36) got RR home. He has three wickets in hand and two balls to spare.

Match 3
DC vs PBKS, 18 April – Won

After losing the previous game, DC gave a surprising response by defeating PBKS by six wickets.

PBKS made a huge collection of 195/4 after being asked to bat, as their openers KL Rahul (61) and Mayank Agarwal (69) were all on fire. All the DC bowlers had a bad day in office and they proved costly.

However, Shikhar Dhawan (92 off 49 balls), Prithvi Shaw (32), and Marcus Stoinis (27) helped DC win the toss by six wickets.

Match 4
DC vs MI, 20 April – Won

He was a competition cracker as the defending champion as last year’s runner-up. And DC, who came in at the top, claimed an easy win by six wickets.

Amit Mishra (4/24) put a trap around the MI batsmen who scored only 137/9 in 20 overs. In reply, Shikhar Dhawan, Steve Smith, and Lalit Yadav joined in the runs and ensured DC’s easy victory.

Match 5
DC vs SRH, 25 April – Match tied (DC win Super Over)

With a two-match winning streak behind them, DC mustered the courage to beat SRH in their thrilling super over.

Prithvi Shaw (53), Rishabh Pant (37), and Steve Smith (34) helped DC after 159/4. For SRH, Kane Williamson (66 not out) and Johnny Bairstow (38) pushed the match into the Super Over.

With eight needs in the super over, Captain Pants (5) and three boys took DC home.

Match 6
DC vs RCB, 27 April – Lost

RCB was in the middle of a decent run and DC trailed by one run in this thrilling face-off.

A master class from AB de Villiers (75 off 42 balls) took RCB to 171. Rishabh Pant (58 not out) and Shimron Hetmyer (53) intimidated the RCB, but Siraj (1/44), who proved to be too expensive, failed in the final over to snatch victory from the flames of defeat.

Match 7
DC vs KKR, 2 May – Won

After being asked to bat, KKR posted 156/3, which included Andre Russell’s pyro strategy (45 off 27 balls). Spinner Akshar Patel (2/32) and Lalit Yadav (2/13) are the favorites of DC bowlers.

Shaw, who made the most of the score and the opening stand of 132 runs between Dhawan means DC chased the target in 16.3 overs.

Match 8
DC vs PBKS, 29 April – Won

DC won their last match against the PBKS by a wicket before moving to the UAE after being suspended indefinitely.

Mayank Agarwal (unbeaten on 99 off 58) was asked to bat and PBKS dropped to 166 after 6 overs. For DC, Kagiso Rabada, who took three wickets, was the choice of the bowlers even though he gave up nine runs per over.

In response, DC’s top order of Dhawan, Shaw, and Smith ensured that the franchise returned home in 17.4 overs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: